Know your Protein Powders

You should know that many companies and businesses are selling different types of protein powders and mixtures. People who lack knowledge about protein shakes might think that all of them provide the same nutrients. Protein powders not only contain protein alone, but there are other nutrients added to support other areas of the body. 

When it’s your first time to buy protein powder, you need to know what is inside it and how it will benefit you. Buying it because you like it isn’t a good idea because you might be using it the wrong way. Some people have been drinking it like it’s a snack and in such cases, it might not be as effective as they thought it would be. 

Different Kinds of Protein Powder Mixtures

Protein powders do not give protein alone. There are many mixtures of protein powder that specifically give the user certain benefits. 

  • Whey Protein

Whey protein comes from milk, and it is the liquid that separates from the curds during the process of cheesemaking. It is high in protein but also harbours lactose, a type of milk sugar that some people have a hard time digesting. This is why some individuals are lactose-intolerant. 

  • Casein Protein

Casein protein is another protein that you can find in milk. What makes this a bit different from whey protein is that the casein is digested and absorbed much slower. It forms a gel when it links with stomach acid, gradually slowing stomach emptying and delaying your bloodstream’s absorption of amino acids. It would mean a steadier, gradual exposure of your muscles to amino acids, reducing muscle protein breakdown rates. 

  • Egg Protein

This is one food that people know about that is rich in protein. Eggs have the highest protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score. However, egg protein powders do not have the entire egg in the mixture, but only the egg whites. Even if it is just the egg whites, the protein quality remains superb. You may also experience less fullness because the high-fat yolks have been removed. 

  • Pea Protein

For people who want to transition to a vegan diet, you have pea protein powders to incorporate with the diet. You can also use pea protein powders if you get allergies or are sensitive to eggs or dairy. It is usually made from a high-fibre legume that contains all but one of the essential amino acids, which is called the yellow split pea. 

  • Hemp Protein

If you do not like the pea protein, maybe you can replace it with the hemp protein instead. It is also a plant-based supplement and is already taking over the vegan protein powder world. However, hemp is related to marijuana which might make some people sceptical about it. You need not worry because it only contains trace amounts of THC, a psychoactive component.

Which Protein Powder Should You Use?

If your goal is to gain more muscle, you can always choose whey protein powders. Scientists have consistently confirmed it could help with muscle mass and recovery. And if you aim to lose weight, casein protein, whey protein, or the combination of the two powders can help you. Lastly, the vegetarians can drink protein powders either in a single or mixed 100% vegan plant proteins.

Now that you know the several types of protein powders, you won’t have any difficulty when you buy protein powder products in the future.